Civil Engineering Students Win First Place at Student Competitions organized by the Institute of Transportation Engineers



Sanjeev Bhurtyal, Karla Diaz-Corro, Mariah Crews, and Sharif Mahmud (from left to right)

Civil engineering students advised by, Dr. Sarah Hernandez, received several awards in student competitions. The event was organized by the Missouri Valley chapter of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (MOVITE), a section of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE). ITE is the international professional society for persons engaged in the planning, design and operation of streets, highways and other transportation facilities. Section members are from Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Oklahoma.

Under the lemma "Gateway to the Future: A New Horizon of Transportation", the students presented their work at the ITE 2019 Midwest District and MOVITE Joint Annual Meeting, held on June 19-21, 2019 in St. Louis, Missouri.

PhD student Magdalena Asborno (not pictured above) won the first place on the Student Poster Competition for her work entitled: "Estimating waterborne port calls from LPMS and truck GPS data: a multi-commodity assignment model". The novel, multimodal fusion model closes a critical gap in the ability to estimate portlevel commodity flows, which is essential for estimating the demand for freight transportation facilities and services on inland waterways.

Graduate students Sharif Mahmud, Sanjeev Bhurtyal, Karla Diaz-Corro, and undergraduate student Mariah Crews won the first place in the Student Design Competition. The successful project achieved in creating a livable, sustainable, and safe environment for *everyone*, connecting *all* people from *all* over the community.

The University of Arkansas was represented for the first time in the, Traffic Bowl Competition. The team comprised of Karla Diaz-Corro, Sanjeev Bhurtyal, and Mariah Crews held 3rd place. Also during the event, Master student Karla Diaz-Corro received the 2019 Jan Kibbe Student Scholarship, which has been awarded for the second year in a row to a University of Arkansas graduate student (2018 recipient was Magdalena Asborno).